by Laura Bradley .

And the winner is...

A huge crowd gathered at the Design Museum last night to witness the announcement of the prestigious Designer of the Year award, whose shortlist this year comprised of furniture and lighting designer Tom Dixon, co-founder of Architecture for Humanity Cameron Sinclair, illustrator Jamie Hewlett and The Guardian. Three months worth of public votes were counted and a final decision was made yesterday morning by a panel of judges including Burberry Creative Director Christopher Bailey and last year's winner Hilary Cottam. The £25,000 award, presented by Sir Christopher Frayling, eventually went to Jamie Hewlett (pictured), responsible for the animations for the virtual group 'Gorillaz'. The exhibition, which includes an extensive selection of Hewlett's working drawings, design sheets and video screens featuring the four-piece group, runs until the 18th June.