Michael Bracewell is a highly-regarded British novelist and critic. Born in London in 1958 he was educated at the University of Nottingham. His first novel, The Crypto-Amnesia Club, was published in 1988, followed by Divine Concepts of Physical Beauty in 1989 and The Conclave in 1992 and Perfect Tense in 2001. His non-fiction includes a cultural history of England, England Is Mine: Pop Life in Albion From Wilde to Goldie (1997) and his writing is included in The Faber Book of Pop (1995) and The Penguin Book of Twentieth-Century Fashion Writing (1999). He has been a key contributor to contemporary art magazine Frieze since it's launch, and has written exhibition catalogues for contemporary artists including Sam Taylor-Wood, Ian Davenport and Gilbert & George. He has regularly contributed to broadsheets such as the ‘Observer’, ‘Guardian’, ‘Independent’, and magazines such as ‘The Face’ and ‘Harper's Bazaar’. He has written and presented two documentaries for BBC television, a profile of Oscar Wilde and a film about architectural historian Nikolaus Pevsner's guide to Surrey. In 2002, he was invited by Book Works artists’ books publishers to collaborate with maverick artist Linder Sterling on a joint publication making a guide to an area of the north western coast of England, under the title ‘I Know Where I’m Going’, published in 2003. Bracewell's books have included a non-fiction portrait of the last decade of the 20th century, entitled The Nineties: When Surface was Depth (2002), and Roxyism (2004), a book about the art rock group Roxy Music. Bracewell recently contributed to 'The Edgier Waters', and has also worked as a consultant for the British Council in London.

Selected Bibliography

  • Roxyism, Flamingo, 2004 
  • The Nineties: When Surface was Depth Flamingo, 2002 
  • Perfect Tense Cape, 2001 
  • The Penguin Book of Twentieth-Century Fashion Writing (contributor), Viking, 1999 
  • England Is Mine: Pop Life in Albion from Wilde to Goldie HarperCollins, 1997 
  • The Faber Book of Pop (contributor), Faber and Faber, 1995 
  • Saint Rachel Cape, 1995 
  • The Conclave Secker & Warburg, 1992 
  • Divine Concepts of Physical Beauty, Secker & Warburg, 1989 
  • The Quick End (includes Bracewell's novella 'Missing Margate'), Fourth Estate, 1988 
  • The Crypto-Amnesia Club, Serpent's Tail, 1988


  1. 1 Apr 2005
    Michael Bracewell features in a project.

    Sittings: Thirty Men