Massive Attack began in 1988 as Bristol trio Grant Marshall (aka Daddy Gee), Robert del Naja (3D), and Andrew Vowles (Mushroom), famed for their pioneering role in the rise of trip-hop. Their debut album Blue Lines was released in 1991, followed by their 1994 album Protection to much acclaim and significant commercial success. These albums feature contributions from other key contemporary musicians - Horace Andy and Tracey Thorn, Nicolette and fellow Bristolian Tricky. There was a four year gap until their next release, Mezzanine, perceived to be rather darker and more abrasive than its predecessors. It was after this release that Mushroom quit the band. Massive Attack has contributed work to various soundtracks including Mission Impossible and Moulin Rouge and have collaborated with artists such as David Bowie and The Dandy Warhols. Their album 100th Window, was released in February 2003, and they have subsequently released a greatest hits album, Collected in 2006.



  1. 25 Feb 2003
    Massive Attack features in a project.

    Special Cases